ECVDI® College History

The pre-College History

The specialisation in Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging in Europe started in Great Britain in 1965.

Veterinarians with a special interest in Radiology formed the British Veterinary Radiology Association (BVRA).

Already in the late 70's and especially in the 80's more and more veterinarians from other European countries were joining the BVRA.

In 1978 the Council of Ministers adopted the Directives on the mutual recognition of diplomas, and free movement of veterinary surgeons. The Co-ordination Committee for Veterinary Specialisation and the different European veterinary associations discussed how speciality Colleges could be formed. The goals being to standardise the post graduate education, to approve the titles of the various specialities in Veterinary Medicine throughout Europe thus to improve the quality of Veterinary services in all European countries.

In 1991 the members of the British Veterinary Radiology Association decided to change the name to the European Veterinary Radiology Association in order to encourage the other European countries to work together, and to facilitate establishment of a College. The following year in 1992 the Association changed its name again to the European Association of Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging to reflect the wider interest of our speciality and to have a similar name to the new College.

The ECVDI® was founded in 1994

The establishment of the European College of Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging® (ECVDI®) began at the Annual General meeting of European Veterinary Radiological Association in Ebnat-Kappel, Switzerland September 6th 1992. During the following two years the Constitution and College Profile were developed, modelled closely on those of American College of Veterinary Radiology (founded in 1961) and the European College of Veterinary Surgery (founded in 1991).

The European College of Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging® was founded and recognised in 1994. The Constitution was accepted and registered in Giessen, Germany. The first president was Hester McAllister, Vice-president: Kees Dik, Secretary: Peter Lord and Treasurer: Ruth Dennis.

Six invited specialists (Frances Barr, Kees Dik, Mark Flückiger, Peter Lord, Hester McAllister and Francis Verschooten) were elected by the three grandfathers (Christine Gibbs, Kevin Kealy and Peter Suter) according to the article 4.2.a) of the ECVDI® Constitution.

The logo for the college was selected from 10 proposals at the AGM in Cambridge in 1996. It is in black and white and symbolises three different animals looking towards a radiation source. The Veterinary Radiology & Ultrasound is the official journal of the College since 1999, and every Diplomate receives the journal as a part of the annual member fee.

Objectives of the ECVDI®

The primary objectives of the College shall be to advance veterinary diagnostic imaging in Europe and increase the competence of those who practise in this field by:

a) establishing guidelines for post-graduate education and experience prerequisite to becoming a specialist in veterinary diagnostic imaging;

b) examining and certifying veterinarians as specialists in veterinary diagnostic imaging to serve the veterinary profession and the public in general;

c) encouraging research and other contributions to knowledge relating to diagnostic imaging, and promoting communication and dissemination of this knowledge.

Evolution of the membership

The de facto membership process was started on September 1, 1992, with a first round of approvals in December 1994, at which time 29 extra-diplomates had been accepted on the basis of their curriculum vitae. At the end of the first 5 years of existence period of the College (1999), 13 more had been accepted as de facto members.

Since the creation of the ECVDI®, 1 de facto diplomate had been excluded, 2 diplomates passed away and 2 diplomates resigned from membership.

The first examination was held in Cambridge in 1996 (+ 2 dips) and was followed by exams in...

  • Cambridge in 1997 (+ 6 dips)
  • Uppsala in 1998 (+ 4 dips)
  • Vienna in 1999 (+ 5 dips)
  • Brussels in 2000 (+ 7 dips)
  • Zürich in 2001 (+ 6 dips)
  • Paris from 2002 (+ 6 dips), 2003 (+ 10 dips), 2004 (+ 4 dips) to 2005 (+ 5 dips)
  • Ghent in 2006 (+ 10 dips) and 2007 (+ 12 dips)
  • Utrecht from 2008 (+ 10 dips), 2009 (+ 13 dips) and 2010 (+ 9 dips)
  • Three associate members entered the college in 2010.

Current Status of the ECVDI® as of January 10, 2011

As of January 1, 2011, the ECVDI® membership includes 157 members:

  • 133 practising diplomates
  • 7 non-practising diplomates
  • 7 retired diplomates
  • 7 honorary members (4 according to the EBVS rules + the 3 college grandfathers who are also diplomates)
  • 3 associate members 

There are 31 standard residency programs including 84 Resident members-in-training (standard programmes = 77; in individual programmes = 7). The ECVDI® also has one speciality society: The European Large Animal Diagnostic Imaging Society (ELADIS).

J. Arnbjerg
J. Saunders

©Copyright 2015-2020 ECVDI®, European College of Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging® and associated organisations, all rights reserved.

The following titles are protected Trademarks of the European Union for the ECVDI®:
European College of Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging® CTM 013075601 - ECVDI® CTM 013075304 - European Specialist in Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging® EUTM 015634348 - European Specialist in Veterinary Radiology® EUTM 015634371

Usage implies acceptance of website Terms and Conditions of use. This website uses cookies. Read our cookie policy HERE